what’s in your fridge?

She rises while it is yet night and provides food for her household… vs. 15a

So last night my roommates shared with me this wonderful website that solves all of my problems! Well, kinda.

I love to plan weekly meal menus. However, whenever I do that, I find myself wanting to get recipes that require ingredients that I do not currently have. Well, I often want to do those recipes so badly, that I can’t stop thinking about it. So I just buy the ingredients (which in turn means I spend more money than I need to, when I have food in my refrigerator/pantry/freezer already!).

This website is called My Fridge Food. On the home page, you can do a “quick find,” where you just put main items that you have. Or you can click on “Use detailed kitchen” and put in pretty much any item you can think of that you have in your home. Then whenever you click the magical “Search for recipes” button it will bring up all the recipes that you can make with the food you already have! It will also pull up recipes that you have most of the ingredients for and let you know the one you are missing (in case you think you can substitute or for something or leave that ingredient out). Is that a miracle or what? Okay, maybe I’m a little too excited about this. However, there are SO many benefits to this:

Benefit #1: If you didn’t have time to make a menu for the week yet, simply put in your ingredients and quickly find something to make for your meal.

Benefit #2: You can actually utilize the items you have in your home.

Benefit #3: You can learn new ways to cook. You may think something like, “I didn’t know I could make that using that!”

Benefit #4: It’s organized. And you all know how much I appreciate that.

Benefit #5: It’s suspenseful. Okay, yeah this seems kinda silly. But as I was putting in all the food I had, I found myself getting impatient and excited all at the same time wanting to know what the magical search button would come up with.

Benefit #6: It’s free! I mean, what more could you want?

So props to whoever made My Fridge Food. I wish I would have patented it myself.

Let me know if you try it and if you like it!

Coming soon: Monkey Bread post….a recipe spontaneously found on My Fridge Food!

 

4 thoughts on “what’s in your fridge?

  1. Pingback: monkey bread. | Becoming a Proverbs 31 Woman

  2. Pingback: menu planning and store sales. | Becoming a Proverbs 31 Woman

Leave a Reply

