the design of cooking.

Many women have done excellently, but you surpass them all. vs. 29

I’m attempting to enter into the world of gourmet cooking. Where it’s not just throwing something together for the sake of filling my belly but putting time and effort into make it a culinary creation. Now Kaleb and I have a new favorite meal. Salmon Croquettes. I found this simple, yet classy kinda recipe from Tasty Kitchen about a month ago and put it on my list of I-have-to-make-this-asap recipes. Well, it was a success! Mr. Cook enjoyed it just as much as I did. I’m hoping that whenever my last name matches his, I will have that Cook exquisite taste.

Here are the cast of characters for this meal…

You can find the detailed measurements and steps on the link above. But here’s how it works in lamen terms…

Chop an onion , saute it in butter, and add a clove or minced garlic…

Throw onion/garlic mix and the rest of the ingredients in a bowl and get your hands dirty…

Form those salmon croquettes into patties (they are basically like crab cakes, but salmon). And let them chill for about 15 minutes in the refrigerator (important step!)

On medium high heat, cook them on the stovetop until they are nice and brown. Well, maybe more tan. Brown may be too burnt. Yeah, let’s go with tan. Add a few more bread crumbs to each side while tanning.

Then serve with other delicious sides like asparagus and rice…yum! Whenever you are preparing more of a fancy meal where you are putting special effort into the presentation of it, it’s important to put foods that go well together. Not just taste well together, but also look good together. Like they were made for one another.

I heard gourmet cooking defined as being an art where you consider balances between textures and colors that has a lasting, memorable effect on the time allotted to the eating experience. Keep in mind, this is like low grade “gourmet.” It was REALLY simple. However, I want to be able to make meals where I consider it an art… my time to create whatever I want for the certain occasion to make the people involved happy. Just like Steve Jobs who was obsessed with design and ran one of the most successful companies in the world. Appearance does make a difference.

Leave a Reply

