living an organized life part 1: the home.

She looks well to the ways of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.vs. 27

Recently, I have been thinking/blogging a lot about organization. I know that a lot of you readers are college students, and the best way to start off a new semester is to have a positive attitude and get yourself organized for the next few months.  I have come to learn that organization is not a one time thing, a task at hand, or even something that relates only to one part of your life. Rather it is a state of mind that you can live in. To live an organized life is to live a free life. By being organized, you can learn to de-clutter your mind from your to-do list, de-clutter your home for a relaxing atmosphere, and de-clutter your schedule so you can make time for others. So through a short series, I would like to share some helpful tips on “how to live an organized life.”

Disclaimer: I don’t expect everyone to enjoy organization the way I do; however, I would challenge you to try out some of these tips in your own life, make them work for you, and see how you feel at the end of the day.

Part 1:

Ways to keep your home organized:

1. Give everything a place.

This is helpful for many reasons. Whenever you need to find something quickly, you know where it is. Also, it helps keep your home neat and tidy.

2. Whenever you come home from a long day of work, put your stuff in its place.

If everything is going to have a place, then that means that it is important to put it back in its place. I know, I know. It’s super tempting to just throw your coat down, leave your purse out, and put your  keys  wherever they may land. But I assure you, that it takes less time to just put the coat in the closet and your other items in their place rather than setting it all down and on “cleaning day” putting it where it belongs.

3. Take pride in keeping your pantry, refrigerator, and freezer neat and tidy.

First reason for this: It looks better. Second: You know what food you have and what food you don’t.

4. Do the dishes/clean up after you cook.

I am not saying you can’t ever leave dishes in the sink. However, I like to do them as soon as I am done at the dinner table so then I don’t have to worry about it later. I do them before I sit down and watch a tv show, and for some reason, I always enjoy that show better because I don’t have this nagging thought in my head that dishes need to be done sometime soon.

5. Regularly go through closets and get rid of things you don’t need/want/or use.

Over break I made it a point to organize all of the closets in my apartment and not only did it feel nice to look in the closet and see a space that was straightened, but also I was able to get rid of stuff that I didn’t need and bless others with it by donating it.

6. Make your bed.

And fluff up those pillows while you’re at it. Make it look appealing.

7. Put similar items in the same place.

As you are giving the items in your home a place, think, “Where is this best suited?” For example, one closet can house cleaning supplies and one kitchen drawer can have all of the utensils. This may seem like a basic step; however, you’d be surprised how many people don’t think to put similar items in one location.

8. If you are in a hurry and leave stuff out on the counters or throw clothes on the bed, then whenever you get home, simply put it away.

This is not a “fix all” solution to keeping an organized home. There will be days that things are out of place, dishes are in the sink, and laundry is overflowing. It happens. But make it a priority to consistently and regularly keep it a place of de-clutter and a comfortable atmosphere for studying, relaxing, and having people in your home.

What are some tips you all have for keeping an organized home?

Check back for living an organized life: Part 2!

2 thoughts on “living an organized life part 1: the home.

  1. you are so right… Everything seems better when the laundry is folded and put away instead of on my sofa, and the bed is made, and my sink isn’t full of dirty dishes!

Leave a Reply

