let’s take a moment to reflect.

Blogging has become one of my new passions. However, I must sometimes step back and remember the real reason I started this blog in the first place. To publicly live out and go on this journey of becoming a Proverbs 31 woman. Why publicly? Two reasons: to motivate myself to actually do it and to inspire others.

One thing that I have to remember is that while it’s great that I am learning the functionality of a woman and how God wired me with the potential to be a homemaker extraordinaire, it’s most important to allow God to change my heart. By that I mean, not just going through the motions of making delicious dinners for my future hubby and teaching myself how to do crafty things, but rather allowing God to do this work inside of my that only He can do. To teach me how to care for other human beings more than I care for myself. To give me a heart for children so I can someday be a mother that puts their needs before mine. To learn to biblically submit to my husband and not whine when I don’t get my way. To prioritize my life in a way that  puts Jesus above all. And to focus on my inward more than my outward appearance. And guess what I have found out? I can’t do it. I can’t become righteous. Because then it’s self-righteousness, which is the exact opposite of what needs to happen. Only my Maker can show me what He created me for and guide my in the way that I should go. Only He can change me. Only He can make me that woman. My job is to simply let Him in so He can do His work. Yes, I have to put some effort into it. Yet I must be careful to not become prideful at how “good of a woman” I am becoming. Because if that happens, then I have defeated the purpose of becoming a Proverbs 31 woman.

So keep me in check, readers! And come on this journey with me….because I sure enjoy learning how God designed me to be.

5 thoughts on “let’s take a moment to reflect.

  1. Sarah, its incredible to me how the Lord speaks in relevant pertinent ways every day! Our pastor preached today over Mark 5:25-34, in his final sermon in a series on change. His point today was that we can’t change, but we can BE changed by the Him. But like the woman in that passage, we have to give up our futile efforts, our shame, embarrassment and pride, and out doubt and reach out to God.
    sible for the people we become, but only God can get us there. We dont doubt his ability to

Leave a Reply

