DIY flower pillow.

She seeks wool and flax, and works with willing hands. vs. 13

After a long Tuesday of another throw down with my sewing machine, we finally became friends. I’m not sure if it’s because it is a vintage machine or I’m an airhead, but I could not get it to do what I wanted it to do. I kept reminding myself of those wise words, “Once you figure out machine, it gets much easier.” I decided that I wanted to make a flower pillow. I had some leftover fabric from the last pillow I made for Jordan, and I really loved how it looked against my mustard yellow chair, so I thought, “Why not make myself one?”

This is a simple project that you can easily do.

Step 1: Sew the pillow. I talk about how I did that in this post here.

Step 2: Cut out all different size circles. I used different objects around my house to trace a perfect circle. For example, I used a mason jar, a tea pitcher, an oil lamp, etc..

Step 3: Cut 1/2 inch lines around the fabric.This is to make the petals

Step 4: Burn the edges of the “petals.” Disclaimer: Yes, this is the second project within the past month that involves fire. I promise, I am not a pyromaniac. Trust me, my therapist assured me.

Step 5: Once all of your petals have been singed, overlap the circles and sew a button in the middle of it. Here’s a good video on how to sew on a button.

(It helps to have the flower as one piece so it is easy to sew onto the pillow.)

Step 6: Sew the flower onto the pillow. (It is similar to sewing the button onto the flower, except you have the go through the whole pillow, so use a long needle)

And there you have it!

Doesn’t it look swell with my chair? They were made for each other.

For all you sewing women out there: I may not be doing it “the correct way.” Let me know! Teach me your ways.

However, this worked well for me. And this is a project anyone can do themselves.

*This is part of Blue Cricket Design link party.

*This is part of Cozy Home Scenes link party.

3 thoughts on “DIY flower pillow.

  1. Pingback: Home maker Extraordinare | A Cord of 3 Strands

  2. Thanks for showing your pretty pillow at my party. I am like you by doing things my way sometimes and hoping things turn out fine. Your pillow project certainly turned out fine! I have never done a flower like this but it is very pretty and you got it just right.———- Shannon

    • Thanks Shannon! Ps- Thanks so much for always stopping by and commenting 🙂 Yeah, I am starting a month sewing class this thurs to help me get better. Then hopefully I can post more sewing projects!

Leave a Reply

