ringing in the new year.

She is clothed with strength and dignity, and she laughs without fear of the future. vs. 25

I don’t particularly like New Years Resolutions. Most of the time, I feel stressed out to accomplish them and then whenever I don’t accomplish it, I feel guilty. Why start the year putting all of these expectations on myself? However, I do like having yearly goals. You may be thinking, “Isn’t that the same thing?” Well, in my mind, not exactly. These are things that I want to fill 2012 with. Things I want to do, things I want to learn, and things I want to own/buy. When December 31, 2012 comes around and it is time to do another “yearly goal” list; if I didn’t buy one of the items I wanted to buy or  learn something I wanted to learn, then I can simply decide it’s not something I need to do or I can try to do it the next year. See the difference? Less pressure. It’s good to have life goals.  A resolution can definitely be a goal, but I just don’t like to feel like I HAVE to do it or else I failed. Not for me. So anyway, I am ringing in the New Year with my yearly goals. I hope that throughout my blogging experience in  2012, I can look back at this regularly and then blog about how that goal was met, accomplished, or I decided it wasn’t worth it.

In the year 2012…


Things I want to do:

Spend time with Jesus in the morning hours.

Work out in the mornings regularly rather than just sometimes mornings, sometimes evenings, and sometimes not at all.

Get out of bed when my alarm goes off..the first time.

Don’t be a stressed out bridezilla on my wedding day or any time before.

Make Kaleb happy by having spontaneous surprises for him.

Cook more delcicious-looking & delcious-tasting food.

Start making homemade soap and washing detergent.

Read a book of the Bible from start to finish that I haven’t completely read through yet.

Get engaged in a really good show on netflix and watch all of the series (like Lost..I am almost finished!)

Fully enjoy graduate school…and not just be anxious to graduate and start  “real life.” (be content)

Become more fluent in German.

Things I want to learn:

Learn how to sew.

Learn how to restore old furniture. Like Vintage Junky does.

Learn how to do a fishtail braid. Like this.

Learn how to play violin better (summer goal when I only have one class).

Things I want to own:

A puppy…one as cute as this will do 😉

A vintage chandelier (so far, I haven’t found one under $250..I am determined to find one WAY cheaper.)

Vintage electronics for Kaleb’s soon-to-be office.

A craft room/office that looks as cute as this…

A white Christmas tree… (I am allergic to real Christmas trees and I LOVE the white ones)


P.s.- The highlight of 2012: I am getting married to my favorite man in the whole universe!!!

Yep, that deserves 3 exclamation points.

Tell me: what are you most excited about for 2012?

4 thoughts on “ringing in the new year.

  1. Well looks like you can cross one thing off the list, fishtail braiding! I have you covered on that one 🙂 I will teach you whenever you want! It’s actually very simple 😉

Leave a Reply

