kiss the cook?

She looks well to the ways of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness. vs. 27

Yep, that’s right..I deserve a big smooch. Why? I’ve been cooking a whole lot!

No, I’m kidding. Well, about the kiss, not about the cooking.

More specifically, I have been doing a lot of baking. Maybe cause it’s the holidays?

On Saturday, I went to my parents house, and my mom and I baked our annual Christmas cookies. This year we made sugar cookies, candy cane cookies, and walnut cookies. Delicious. Let’s just say I ate a lot of cookie dough!

I was in charge of the sugar cookies. Here are the ingredients: (this was a simple recipe from All Recipes)

Here’s the result…

Then on Sunday night, Kaleb and I wanted to spend some time with Joyce, our friend and talented wedding photographer. So we had her over to my place. She brought a Vietnamese dish, and Kaleb and I prepared an asian style salad, bread, asparagus, punch, and cinammon cake. Let’s just say we feasted.

You can find the salad recipe from All Recipes.

Here is the asian style salad ingredients… (by the way, I will be making this again. It turned out great!)

And here is what it looked like…

If I could have any time of dessert, it would be something with cinnamon in it. In Joyce’s words, cinnamon just makes you feel a certain way, and it’s good. Here are the ingredients for the cinnamon cake: (by the way, this recipe is on my Pinterest board).

This is how it turned out…

Warning: it will melt-in-your-mouth. Another warning: this recipe takes longer than you would think. First, you have to make the cake batter, then you have to make the cinammon topping, then you have to make the glaze. I was rushing around the kitchen like a mad woman because I didn’t leave myself enough time to make all this food for our dinner party with Joyce.

Thankfully, Kaleb came over and helped. He made the punch and set up the table…

The we ate and had great conversation.

The more I cook, the more comfortable I get with it. One day, I hope to not even use recipes but create something from nothing. It really is an art.

3 thoughts on “kiss the cook?

  1. It’s good to see your enjoying cooking. I have alway’s had a love for cooking and I enjoy reading and seeing your finished dishes….they all have looked absolutely scrumptious!!! And your remark’s tell me how well they tasted. Continue with this venture the dining room table and food is where most of your family and friend time join. How awesome!

  2. Pingback: soup warms the soul. « Becoming a Proverbs 31 Woman

Leave a Reply

