gatherings.

She is energetic and strong,  a hard worker. vs. 17

I have discovered something about myself in this past year. I love having people over to my house. The more, the better.

I frequently like to invite various people over. Every Tuesday, we have small group, and we prepare a full meal. But besides that I like to have: couples, kids, families, a whole bunch of girls, and anyone, really over to my apartment. It’s kinda like the epitome of my week if I get to have a gathering at my place.  So, I have learned a few tricks of the trade with having girls nights, dinner parties, small group, etc…

Sometimes I invite 20 people and 4 show up. Is that ok? Yes, yes it definitely is. Sometimes I invite 20 people and 25 show up. Is that also ok? It’s more than ok!

I thought I could give some tips on how to successfully have a gathering at your home:

1. Talk it up.

If you invited a whole bunch of people say on facebook, talk to them face-to-face about it too. And whenever you see them say things like, “Man, I am so excited for the get-together on Saturday! I’ll see you there right?” It really works. Because then they talk to their friends about it, and suddenly everyone is really excited about this get-together.

2. If you are doing a full meal for someone, ask if they have allergies or have a special diet.

This is really important because I sometimes have people over that are on a fast, are vegans, or are lactose intolerant. You want them to be able to eat just like everyone else. If you have knowledge of these specifications, they you can prepare something for them. And, they will appreciate you all the more.

3. Ask people to bring something.

A full meal alone for 10+ people can easily cost $30. I like having people over; however, I don’t like draining my bank account. Most of the time, people are more than happy to contribute in some small way.

4. Don’t get discouraged if not a lot of people show up.

Let me tell you a secret….come real close….. Sometimes less is more. Numbers does not equal fun or quality time. Sometimes, I enjoy just having 3 close girls over so we can share our deepest secrets rather than 20 where deep talk gets lost…it’s okay if it didn’t go as planned. Roll with it.

5. Smile.

I have a problem. Whenever I am in charge, my mind is so busy, and I forget to smile. I sometimes will have a room full of lots of people, and I feel so busy getting everything ready and talking to everyone that I forget to just laugh, smile, and be in the moment. Enjoy the company…they will feel your stress, even if you pretend like you’re not stressed. They can feel it. So don’t stress!

6. Try preparing new foods.

While it’s simple to grab a frozen pizza and pop it in the oven, go outside of your comfort zone, and make something new. Some unique salad or dessert no one has ever heard of. I bet they will talk about it later and tell how much they enjoyed it. Disclaimer: frozen pizza for parties is not bad. I just mean, don’t be afraid to try something new.

7. Set out plates, silverware, cups, etc.. ahead of time.

This is important because whenever people get there, they are probably pretty hungry. If they see all this food, then they just want to start eating. Whether you are using glass plates or paper plates, set the table early or set the plates out buffet style before they get there. Organization is key.

8. Have fun!

Enough said. Relationships with people is probably one of the best gifts besides salvation God has given us on this earth. Enjoy it, and make time for it. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

