energy tips.

She gets up before dawn to prepare breakfast for her household  vs. 15

I like mornings. I didn’t use to. But I have grown to love that time of day.

As a student, waking up early is crucial in order to get everything done in a day. Very rarely am I able to take a day to truly sleep in or do nothing. That’s ok with me. I have grown to like a life where waking up early is a constant. It keeps me motivated.

So…I thought I could post some tips that I have learned (and found online) that help you have energy in the morning and throughout the day.

Perfect time for this considering it’s finals right now eh?

1. Don’t think about sleep.

I use to wake up and all day think about how I need a nap. My thoughts were something like this: “I am sooo tired. I wonder when I can squeeze a nap in. I really need to start getting more sleep. Why am I always so tired?” Basically, feeling sorry for myself that I am an adult now and have responsibilities, like waking up early every day.

2. Vitamins.

Specifically, B12 helps a lot. Whenever I had mono, I took this every day. It really did help me.

3. Work out.

I use to say, “I don’t have time.” Yes I did. I just didn’t make time. I have less time now in life and work out more. Why? Because I made it an absolute priority. And I feel a lot better: energy & self-esteem.

4. Eat Breakfast.

I’m no nutrition expert, but metabolism is a real thing. Scott H Young’s blog says, “Skipping meals throw your metabolism out of balance, causing you to gain fat and lose energy. Skipping breakfast also means your blood sugar will be low in the morning and energy levels down.” I believe him.

5. Don’t set your alarm off a million, thousand times.

Guilty as charge. Yes, I am. This morning I think I set it off about 3 times…uh, I need to work on that. The mornings I actually get up whenever it goes off the first time (which is very rare), I feel SO much better.

6. Naps are not a necessity.

I use to take naps a lot. I have stopped and rarely take naps anymore. Instead if I need to rest, I will lay in bed watching a 3o minute tv show and then get up. Normally, my 30 minute naps would be 1 hour naps, and then I couldn’t go to sleep at night. AND a felt groggy the rest of the day. Blah. A bad habit for me I had to break.

7. Eat smaller portions, more often.

In the past week, I have eaten a potluck and a few buffet meals (which is not typical for me). After every one of those meals, I wanted to take a huge nap. I felt so tired. Whenever I stick to my normal schedule of like soup/salad for lunch and snack (like nuts or popcorn) before dinner, I don’t feel as exhausted as eating one big lunch.

8. Wash your face.

I always feel better once I get water on my face in the mornings.

9. Quiet your mind.

I think a lot. Probably at a rate double most people. It wears me out. I feel like I am running a marathon in my mind. Sometimes I have to ask Jesus to help quiet my mind and focus my thoughts on the moment I am in.


4 thoughts on “energy tips.

  1. I feel like I could have written this exact same thing!! I love the morning time! This year has been so much better now that I’m taking my vitamins on a daily basis, doing Pilates, making sure I eat something every 4 hours to keep my metabolism up, and making sure everything I eat is relatively healthy. I used to set so many alarms and would hear them going off for forever, but now I set my alarm for the exact time that I need to get out of bed and as soon as it goes off, I get up. Those little things really do help a lot! I’m totally with you on the quiet your mind thing as well. I feel like my mind is always running a marathon!!

    P.S. I love your new blog design/makeover!

Leave a Reply

