food brings family together.

“She gets up before dawn to prepare breakfast for her household…”  vs. 15

I really enjoying cooking and admire those great women in my life who can cook like nobody’s business. (my mom, Kaleb’s mom, Kaleb’s stepmom, etc..). Being a graduate student, it is very tempting when I come home from class at thelate  hour of 9 o clock  to want to eat raman noodles and go to bed. Some nights, this is totally acceptable for me. However, I have this new goal to cook one new recipe a week. On average, I cook about 3 good meals a week for myself or others. But most of time, it’s the same staple meals that I know are quick, easy, and most importantly healthy for my body. Things are changing. I will now be trying one new thing a week. In my psychology and social work studies, I have learned that novel (new) experiences and activities keep the excitement throughout the longevity of life among couples. I hope to always bring new meals to the table for my family.

So I will be blogging about my new recipes every week. I have been inspired by Ree Drummond, a classy lady whom I would love to have coffee wth someday. Her blog is http://thepioneerwoman.com/. I will be getting a lot of recipes from there.

I’ve realized that one reason I enjoy cooking so much is because I can channel all of my creative energy into a good meal. Traditionally, meals have brought family and friends together and created a close-knit environment. Kaleb sure appreciates when I cook for him, and I hope to always provide our household that feeling of togetherness and love at the dinner table.

So….last night was my first new recipe that I have tried in a long time. It was good homestyle cooking. I made meatloaf (which I have never made before), cheesy garlic mashed potatoes, sweet corn, texas toast, and fresh garden salad. My sweet fiancé came over to join me. It was a nice feast, and it turned out quite well. During the meal, Kaleb looked at me with those sincere eyes and thanked me for being the wife he wants and needs. Although it made me blush a bit, I definitely realize that I have a lot to learn about being a good wife…and I am excited to learn.

Here were most of the ingredients I used… the meatloaf consisted of wheat bread dipped in milk, ground beef, eggs, grated parmesean cheese, parsley, seasoned salt, salt, pepper,and  bacon wrapped around the entire loaf. The sauce on top was a combination of ketchup, brown sugar, dry mustard, and a hint of hot sauce.

The meatloaf, an hour later, when it came out of the oven…

A happy man with a soon-to-be happy stomach.

One thought on “food brings family together.

Leave a Reply

